How a Time-Traveling Englishman and the Dalai Lama Revealed the Secret to Life

By: Chris Weiss, NASM-CPT, Ignite360, TRX & Rip trainer, FMS, USAW Level 1 sports performance coach, & CPR and AED certified, and Rocktape FMT level l & ll.

dalai2

If you’re a client of mine, you will probably read some of this shaking your head with that, “Ugh, I’ve heard this a thousand times before” face. And if you’re not one of my clients, then, hopefully, some or all of what I have to say will resonate with you.

It was late, long past midnight. I lay in bed, envious of my girlfriend who was in a comatose state. With no sleep in sight, I began searching for a film to watch — something funny, no guns, drugs or violence (not easy in today’s cinematic world).

With a simple misplaced point and click on my laptop, I stumbled upon “About Time,” a 2013 light-hearted romantic comedy about a man who travels back in time and the misadventures in life and love through which he awkwardly stumbles. Now, there’s no doubt that in my old age I find myself wrapped in a greater sense of sentimentality. Because of such, I’m not ashamed to say that I found myself getting very choked up toward the end of the film. I probably would have drifted off to sleep with an entirely different mindset had it not been for the very poignant message with which the film ends. But more on that in a minute.

The very next morning, I stumbled upon the above quote while searching for new material for my “Motivation Monday” column. Normally, I would have read the quote, probably liked it, not necessarily loved it and certainly not truly embraced its meaning. But coming on the heels of the previous night’s feature presentation, it was almost as if I were meant to find it. The quote’s message is clear: Live in the present, cherish the here and now.

Listen, life is no easy road to travel and I’m convinced that it’s not supposed to be. It’s filled with trials and tribulations. On any given day, we all deal with relationship issues, work problems, money woes, love, loss, joy, sadness. And sometimes it can feel like it’s stacked up against us.

Most people allow those problems to bleed into their future thoughts and they become the dreaded “what ifs”. You know the ones — they feed your anxiety, plaguing you at night, making you toss and turn. They have you double-checking the locks, altering your vacation plans and texting your kids 18 times despite knowing they’re perfectly safe.

Well, let me tell you something you might not already know: Those “what ifs” will always be there. The key is to not let them determine your life. You can’t live a life worrying about things that haven’t happened and, in all likelihood, will never happen. Anxiety is an entirely future-based condition and more people suffer from it in one way or another than I care to imagine.

But something I’ve recently learned is the secret to living a life that can rid you of such worry (cue soundtrack from “About Time”). Live every day like you’ve deliberately traveled back in time to that particular day and enjoy it like it’s the last full day of your life. I don’t mean spend all your money or go crazy; I mean savor every last morsel the day has to offer. Soak in all the little exquisite intricacies. Take advantage of every opportunity, no matter how small or insignificant it may seem. Learn to not say “I’ll do it tomorrow,” and to embrace each moment when it happens, where it happens and with whom it happens.

If I’ve said it once, I’ve probably said it a thousand times — don’t waste time worrying about the things you can’t change. Focus on what you can change — here and now. Everything else that happens, well, that’s called life. Will yours be one worth remembering?

I’ll leave you with this thought, a quote from the movie:

“We’re all traveling through time together, every day of our lives. All we can do is do our best to relish this remarkable ride.”

chrisweissChris is a National Academy of Sports Medicine certified trainer. He is also an Ignite360 sports performance coach. Having grown up the son of a successful marathon trainer, Chris has spent his entire life in and around sports competing at high levels in Rugby, Squash, Soccer and Basketball. At the age of 18 he helped develop and run the successful American Basketball School in northern England and continued later as a shooting coach at the Blue Hen summer basketball camps. His passion is sports performance and he uses the methodologies developed over the last 30 years at the famed IMG Academy, FL to help develop elite programs for individuals and teams looking to take their performance to the next level. Wanting to enhance the “athletic engine” in everyone, Chris believes that no matter how good you are, your best can always be better and that without commitment and purpose there can be no improvement in performance. If you’re an athlete (of any level) looking to improve your ability, Chris can help

Leave a Reply

